Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trigger Freeze....

pmd

This past weekend I shot a Match at Manville and "Paper an Poppers" was the classifier.

I had the dredded "trigger freeze".

I just could not double tap the paper.

I had a good draw .. "bang" and then had to tell my self to "pull the trigger"... "bang" ... transitioned to the next target ... "bang" and again had to tell myself "pull the trigger... "bang"... I had a quick mag change, went to the poppers and shot those really fast ... "Bang, bang, bang, bang, bang, bang".

I think my problem was thinking - I was telling myself that this was a really easy Classifier as the week earlier I had shot a 74% with a screwup - two extra shots on paper (don't ask.. I am a rookie.. :) ).

I seem to be doing this every now and again. Any remedies??

Thanks.

Paul

Well first is get the "double tap" mindset out of your head.

2nd....never look at a stage as easy. Looking at a stage as being easy makes you think you can burn it down. When you think you can burn something down, you create tension.

For me...whenever I see the dot (or the sight) in it's full arc of recoil, seeing everything that happens, I never have trigger freeze.

2nd....never look at a stage as easy. Looking at a stage as being easy makes you think you can burn it down. When you think you can burn something down, you create tension.

Kind of like riding a motorcycle, when you think that you are the master of the bike it will come back and bite you. :ph34r:

When I was getting trigger freeze, it was more often than not on very close up, hose-em type targets where I expected to be able to just rock through the array. When I quit expecting to shoot 'ultra fast' and just shot, it worked much better and trigger freeze is a thing of the past.

I think it has something to do with my eyes dictating the speed of the array, and not my expectations.

Agreed on all your comments -