Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI Eagle .40 sw load first time

glocklife34

Just acquired a STI Eagle 5.0 40 sw and im a novice reloader. I only load 9mm and will be trying the .40 s&w soon.

My current powder i have in stock is Titegroup, HS6, and wsf. Planning to load a 165 or 180 gr xtreme bullet fmj. If you have a specific load/recipe that you could share i would appreciate it. I heard that STI is reliable with longer OAL?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Of those I'd go with WSF or Titegroup. I've successfully made major with Titegroup at 1.135" OAL but as fast of a powder as it is, it takes some careful attention to metering as you're working up your loads. I'd grab a 180 grain Xtreme and not look back until you've burned through a keg of powder. 1.18" is a good starting point for OAL.

My thread should be just what the doctor ordered!

http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=214265

Really starting to prefer Blue Bullets and WST in my Edge, cheap and accurate!

Thanks for the link exactly what im looking for.

Ill try blue bullets too. I just ordered a 165gr and 180gr xtreme rnfp bullets i will try that first.

What dies are you using? Other forums recommended running it with grx die due to bulging or a egw u die. What would you recommend?

I use a Lee Bulge Buster on unknown brass, after that it goes thru a regular Lee 40 S&W Carbide Die set. If I'm processing Remington brass I'll use a Lee Undersize Carbide Sizer (but only for jacket/plated - it's generally not needed for cast bullets). I usually seat with the Lee Seater Die but I use a Redding Competition Seater Die too (depends on the bullet).