Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

230 Zero plated ball issue on LNL AP - Help

jsg

This will not be short.

I have been reloading 45 ACP for about 30 years. I have loaded tons of lead and some plated. I have only loaded jacketed bullets one time (3000 Armscor 124 ball in 9mm). I now have 2000 Zero 45 ACP 230 jacketed ball and am beginning to make ammo. The issue seems to be seating. Over 15% my completed ammo will not gage without being run through a Lee FCD. Even after going through the FCD, the crimp has to be down to about .469 to correctly gage in the Dillon 45 ACP gage.

230 Zero jacketed ball
5.2 HP-38
CCI or Win LP primer
Mixed brass (wet tumbled)
1.265 OAL

Process:
1) Deprime on Rock Chucker with Lee universal depriming die
2) Wet tumble for 4 hours and dry
3) Resize on Rock Chucker using RCBS carbide resizing die
4) Check every piece of brass in Dillon case gage
5) Prime in RCBS hand primer

Move to Hornady LNL AP
Position 1 - empty
Position 2 - RCBS belling die
Position 3 - LNL powder dropper
Position 4 - Dillon bullet seating die
Position 5 - RCBS seat and crimp die

6) Process brass through LNL to bell, add powder, seat bullet, and crimp.
7) Measure OAL and gage every complete round.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The issue: Bullets will not drop in and out of gage correctly. Most stop about 2mm short of falling all the way in. If I apply pressure and force the round all the way in flush and then push it out with a pen, there is a very noticeable shiny ring on about 1/6th the circumference of the case right at the bottom of the bullet (in the case).

This indicates to me the bullet is not seating straight. Seems it is slightly cocked in the case? This is also making me crimp excessively (.469) to make it gage correctly. I am also noticeing excessive brass shavings and the crimp die starts grabbing the case such that it takes excessive force to lower the ram.

I have tried,