Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

AR-15 Failure to feed

reddot

I have an older AR-15 purchased in late 80's. I used it for NRA hi-power several seasons and then pretty much parked it untill the 3 gun bug hits me about a year ago. I started practicing a bit more and I put  maybe 1k-2k rounds through it and suddenly it starts failing to feed rounds. It has been thoroughly cleaned and I can't see anything blocking the gas tube or anything. At first I just figured it was an ammo problem, but I tried about 20 different loads in 6 mags including some of my old hi-power stuff that always runs, I can't get anything to run reliably, sometimes it doesn't eject the spent case but usually it just doesn't pick up a new round. The extractor does seem to be grabbing the brass, it just doesn't get all the way out. Is there something I don't know about that wears out on these or what? Anybody have this experience? I am currently shooting a variety of Hornady and Sierra bullets on top of VV N-135, N-140 and AA XMR-2015. Any input appreciated, I am stumped!

Questions;  Original Colt, or built from parts?  If Colt, move on.  If built, check the headspace.

If the headspace is correct (if built for High Power it might be too tight) then your extractor spring may have died.  Replace it, and the little synthetic stud inside it.  You might also add a D-Fender to give it more boost.

While you're at it, take the buffer and spring out and scrub the tube clean.  Debris can get in and slow things up.  Not usually a problem by itself, but in conjunction with other marginal items can be enough to tip it into unreliable behaviour.