Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Too tense while shooting

Hi Guys,

I am an A Class shooter trying to make M. I believe that my major issue is that I am too tense while shooting. It really affects my transitions and sometimes makes me too jerky in my movements.

It would be easy to say "Just Relax." Are there any concrete things I can do that will alleviate or eliminate this condition?

A few things I do:

1) While others are getting amped up before they shoot, I am trying to calm myself.

2) I shoot with my mouth open as (believe it or not) I have found this helps a little.

3) I breathe deeply before I shoot.

Any thoughts? Help!

Hi Guys,

I am an A Class shooter trying to make M.

There you go. Maybe this isn't the problem, and take it for what it's worth coming from a B class shooter, Trying screws me up, or at least hinders my performance. Stop trying to do any thing in a match, whether it be calming yourself down or amping yourself up. Don't do either. You're a future Master class, so act like it. :goof:

Edited by grapemeister

You need to completely rework what you THINK is needed to produce a solid stage run. Most shooters create a mindset of needing to induce additional effort or speed to produce a "Fast" stage performance. This kind of mindset only increases tension before and during the stage run. This type of thinking is also closely linked to a result expectation or desired result which usually creates a predetermined "Schedule" of events that you need to adhere to in order for the run to be good. These thought processes are what keep B and A class shooters from moving up to the M and GM level of performance.