Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Primer Flow- Just curious

danman00

Newbie question guys and forgive me if its a stupid one but I'm still learning. I'm relatively new to loading ( for several months now) but can anyone define what primer flow is? I've seen many references in these forums as to watching for primer flow when upping your powder charge while trying to make PF. I'm assuming it has something to with blowing the primer out of the back of the casing if your load is too hot. I'm curious and cautious as the reason I'm asking is I primarily use range pickup brass with no clue as to how many times some of my cases have been fired. I've never had any misfires or failures so far due to some paranoia on my part as continually run into brass that the primers sink or seat way to easily or way to hard. It's not that many I suppose, maybe a couple two or three for every hundred. But if it doesn't feel right when seating with my RCBS hand primer loader, I toss em. But anyway, what do you guys mean exactly when you say to watch for primer flow?

Thanks, Dan

What caliber are you loading? How hot? What powder and bullet are you using?

BTW - no such thing as a "stupid question" - you should have been around 5-6 years

ago when I first joined - those were almost "stupid questions".

Better safe than sorry.

Spend a half hour one day reading the old postings here on BE - go to Forums - then to

Reloading - then to whatever caliber you're reloading - you'll get LOTS of good stuff:)

BTW, do you have a chronograph? :cheers:

Edited by Hi-Power Jack

I'm not having any issues per-say Hi-Power Jack. I was just curious as to the true meaning of primer flow. I load 9mm, .40 S&W and 45 ACP. No I do not have a Chrono yet.. but its my next purchase.

Primer flow is the primer material flowing back into the firing pin hole around the firing pin and/or filling out the perimiter of the primer pocket across the breech face end of the casing.