Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Going from glock to 1911 in steel challenge

Kimbertarget

Hello,

Im a newbie who recently switched from USCA two-gun to STEEL CHALLENGE.

After my 1st steel challenge match i was hooked. On 3hrs of sleep and a long ride to ST.augustine FL,i won my second only steel challenge match in production class in october at A.C.S.R. In ST. Aug, using my E.D.C. Glock-19. I love my Colt enhanced 1911 And my kimber poly target double stack,but cannot draw either as fast as my glock. Seems like i have tohave my thumb pointed down to dig past my grip i order to get a good grips. Yes,i have tried three other holsters. My kydex glock holster is further away from my belt allowing me to draw much easier. What 1911 holsters are not so snug against the waist?

I was thinking of having a leatherman make a small buldge on the backside of the holster allowing it to sit away from my belt. Im thin so its not my anatomy, but the holsters seem to close to my waist area.

I havent run my COLT ENHANCED 1911 yet in single stack and want to make sure i have a good holster to practice with since the J.B.P. leather,custom and a desanti just are not cutting it.

Also ive had a KIMBER TARGET poly widebody i just found magazines for and would like to run in steel challenge as well what USPSA class would it be in? Limited/SSP?

Thank you for any help.

For a 1911 holster, I am using the Blade Tech with a couple of spacers between the holster and belt attachment. This has helped move the gun off the body enough and is well under the 2" requirement. There is another thread on here where Blade Tech has a spacer for the single stack division rules.

I also use a Blade Tech for my 1911s. I use faucet washers between the belt plate and the holster. Just make sure you keep everything within the rquired distance from the belt. See appendix section in the USPSA Rule Book.