Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need help setting up a SV for Limited/ESP

matto

I have been pounding away with Glocks for a few years and have just broken the ice with a SV for the first time.

I purchased a used Infinity double stack with a standard dust cover. It is chambered in .40 s&w with a bull barrel. The gun shows almost no sign of wear, and I know the guy I bought is from rarely shot it, so I'm happy with the quality.

I shot it for the first time last night and have a couple of questions.

1) the gun seems to be very finicky about ammo. I was lucky to hit the paper with some rounds tumbling down range. Others would group well but didn't want to feed. Is this normal?

2) When doing a slide lock reload, ala IDPA, the mag keeps going up inside the gun until it's stopped by the ejector. How do I fix that?

3) I know I'll have to have a bushing barrel fitted for IDPA. Should I go 9mm with or stick with .40 and load lighter for the 125 pf?

I have no Limited gear for holsters or mag pouches, any suggestions would be very much appriciated.

I shot it for the first time last night and have a couple of questions.

1) the gun seems to be very finicky about ammo. I was lucky to hit the paper with some rounds tumbling down range. Others would group well but didn't want to feed. Is this normal?

2) When doing a slide lock reload, ala IDPA, the mag keeps going up inside the gun until it's stopped by the ejector. How do I fix that?

3) I know I'll have to have a bushing barrel fitted for IDPA. Should I go 9mm with or stick with .40 and load lighter for the 125 pf?

I have no Limited gear for holsters or mag pouches, any suggestions would be very much appriciated.

1) My SV 40 likes ammo loaded long. With standard OAL for 40 S&W being 1.125-1.135", my SV runs best at 1.190". Some others have the most success at 1.200-1.250". You'll just need to experiment here. Also, don't overlook magazine tuning. Do a search here, you'll find lots of info.