Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which press or presses for loading rifle cartridges?!

Beacon22

I have been loading pistol cartridges on two 650 presses for about three years and would like to add a third press to be dedicated to rifle rounds. I just don't know what to go with. I have been considering either a Redding single stage, Dillon 550B, or a Forster Bi-ax.

I'll only be loading 3 calibers more than likely: .300 Win Mag, .30-06, and .223.

I don't do any bench rest shooting so accuracy does not have to be tremendous but would like it to be as good or better than factory.

I only see myself loading maybe 1000 rounds a year.

I don't have a budget, just want the perfect setup.

Any help with advice would be great.

All depends on what you want. You want plenty of fast made plinking ammo....get a progressive press. You want very high accuracy ammo...use a single stage. Or get a semi-compromise and get an auto indexing turret press.

I personally just use a Lee Challenger single stage press, as I like to be in control of all the steps. But I keep eyeballing that turret....... :goof:

I'm seriously looking at a Redding T7 Turret press. Apparently accuracy is not sacrificed with this press due to its design and rigidity. I was reading that the current 1000 yard bench rest record holder loads with a T7.