Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Opinions Please

JJSJ

So, I have my pistol (STI Edge) and shotgun (Versamax Tactical) but I'm still looking for a rifle. I've gotten a lot of good advice on here about the factory, out of the box guns but I'm having trouble find any of them. I've considered building one myself but since my experience is with bolt guns I'm really not sure that's something I should try right off the bat. I found a rifle for sale locally but since I'm a complete newbie to AR's I'm hoping I can get some expert opinions. This is what I've found... "Seekins lower, Aero upper, Palmetto build kit, ALG QMS trigger, 16" Joe Bob barrel, BCM gunfighter charging handle, CMT AR 15 bolt, Troy 15" rail, Magpul MOE stock and grip, Magpul MBUS sights". Any thought on this rifle would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jim

Not much wrong with your component choices...most shooters tend to run 18" barrels with rifle length gas tubes for better recoil feel. Several good choices for 18" barrels out there..I am sure many, more knowledgeable folks will be along shortly.

Well Jim, if the "Joe Bob" barrel holds 1-1 1/2 m.o.a. with good loads. And it is reliable, it is a worthy carbine! I have seen many a "Franken-gun" that puts many a factory gun to shame. ( J.P. excluded) I have never cared who made it as long as it meets those criteria.

Edited by kurtm

Not to take anything away from Seekins, but I've built up half a dozen Aero lowers and they've been excellent. Also, the fit between the Aero upper and lower have been equally excellent. I have also recently built up a few rifles using the CPWSA barrels. They only make one model... 16" mid gas, mid contour (fluted), 556 chamber, 9" twist. I run JP rifles with kinda high standards. I gotta say that CPWSA barrel impressed me with sub MOA groups, excellent fit and finish (although the feed ramps need to be polished) and an attractive price point. An excellent value for sure and they are in stock.

All,