Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Properly setting the depth on the 223 sizing die in a 650

I am looking for a YouTube link or vid or info.

I have been reloading pistol stuff for years. Last year or so I started loading 223 but used Scharch processed brass. Now I'm setting up a toolhead with a Redding national match full length size/decap and a case trimmer.

I'm ashamed to say that I need to ask how exactly deep to set the die in station 1 ?? Run it down till it touches? I don't want to waste brass by trial and error and not get the best consistency.

I have a couple case gauges including a JP case gauge. The ammo will be used in a couple different rifles with the primary being a JP.

This topic could go here or rifle and if mods need to move please do so.

I am just learning this myself so take this with a grain of salt lol

The best way to do this is to take a fired case from your rifle and bump the shoulders back a few thousandths to ensure it cycles.

Here is how I done it:

I have a Hornady bulley comparator which I used to measure the distance from the case head to the shoulders on a case fired from my rifle. I set up my sizing die to where it just touched the shell plate with the ram up. I backed it off 1/2 turn and put the fired case it. Once it had been sized, I remeasured the shoulder length and checked to see if it was .002-.003" shorter. Based on what I found, I adjusted the die and tried again.

Once I got the measurment I was looking for, I case guaged the now sized case to check it.

You could bump the shoulders all the way back to the factory setting but that would probably be several thousandths. If you do that, you would be working the brass pretty hard and could shorten its life. You may also not have the best accuracy in your rifle this way as your chamber may be larger.

Since you are doing this for several rifles, you will want to be sure the headspacing is good for all of them. Hope that helps!