Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thinking too much!

I am currently in law enforcement w/ a federal agency. Previously, I worked as a local police officer for 10 years, having carried either a Glock 17 or Glock 21. My current position has the Sig Sauer P229, .357 sig, as its issued weapon. Over the course of the last 2 years (w/ the Feds) my shooting has deteriorated to the point where I am barely qualifying the PPC (255 to qual). I just can't seem to adjust to the Sig's action (double to single). I shot well w/ the Glock and its unique trigger action.

I have come to the point where I put it in my head that I totally despise the Sig and that thought is destroying my fundamentals and mental focus. I head to the range defeated before I begin. During slow aim fire, I hit the 5 ring from 15 yards out, but throw a timer in the mix and that double to single action kills me. Add in slapping the trigger on the single action, blinking, and anticipating the recoil. As much as I try to correct these faults, I always seem to go back to it when timed. Throw on top of this frustration the fact that I haven't shot in a year due to an elbow reconstruction and well, I'm a mess!

My job requires handgun proficency as a sharpshooter. My livelihood depends on my qualifying the PPC. People I have sworn to protect demand nothing less than excellence at my position. I stay awake at night trying to figure out how to shake this "slump." Any advice would be appreciated!