Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.223 rem made easy on an 550B

olp73

Hi

The goal for this post is to get some input on have to load .223 rem on a 550b as easy as possible using two tool heads. I am new to rifle reloading so any inputs are welcome. One of my primary goals are avoiding chamfering the inside and outside of the case neck after the cases are trimmed to length.

First tool head

1. Universal decapping die

2. Dillon 1200 case trimmer

3. Lyman M-die or some form of die that adjust the neck size/tension

I thought a decapping die in station one was a good idea since some brass needs swaging of the primer pocket. The trimmer follows in station 2 and the in station 3 some thing that adjusts the neck tension. I might be wrong but the Dillon sizing die that comes attached to the trimmer does not have an expander ball right? At least I can't see have that would function. Another reason is that some form of neck expander might knock of some burrs from the trimming. Still I wonder if an expander will stretch the case after it is trimmed? How has Dillon meant this to function any how?

Second tool head

1. Universal decapping die/ RSBS x-die

2. Powder die

3. Bullet seater

4. Lee factory crimp or other crimping die.

I am going for a new decapping die in station one might not be necessary but at least it will clear the hole from tumbling media. The powder die has to be in station 2 on a Dillon 550b. Station 4 gets a bullet seater and in number 4 I considered some form of crimping die. I am very much in doubt if the crimping die is necessary, but it too might knock off some burrs and if I use a RCBS M-die it might be good. I am not a big fan of crimping and all I do to my pistol rounds is removing the bell.

I am also considering an x-die if the cases don't stretch as much in my chamber (Wylde) it might be a good solution.

Edited by olp73