Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

XL650 - Removing live primers from feed tube

Hi,

I'm a newbie here... just finished loading my first batch of ammo. Don't ask why, but I have a number of cases that have had the primer replaced, but still need the remainder of the process performed to complete.

I want to remove all of the live primers from the primer tube, so I can load up these partly prepared cases, without wasting primers.

Any instructions would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Todd.

I just raise the platform a bit and then just thumb the Primer Indexing Arm until all the extra primers are fed down the primer chute. Just be careful, the primers like to jump right off the end of the primer chute (which is why it's called the ski jump) you can cut the finger off a rubber glove to slip over the chute, this will catch any that jump off.

Another thing you might want to do if you're feeding primed cases through the press is to remove the decapping assembly from station 1 or you'll be depriming a live primer. (which is never a good thing)

-Steve

Edited by sthone

IT sounds like you could just remove the decapping assembly from station 1,and leave the primers in the machine but stop them from advancing ,by removing the primer advancing device ,the black plastic piece with one bolt on the right front of the frame.

Just so that you would have all the options covered - empty the spent primer bin, then proceed as usual... the live primers will be pushed out and collect there, and you then will be able to reuse them. Just don't jerk the handle - something you should not be doing anyway.