Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dust cover length?

zaxx

Hello everyone,

This is my first post. However, I have been lurking for some time. My apologies.

I am also relatively new to the world of Tanfoglio. I have an Elite Match. By nosing around

on this forum I am learning some of the "ins and outs," "do's and don'ts" of upgrades I am

considering for my pistol. Even though my skillset will never tax the capability the gun as

it comes new, right out of the box, I see no harm in upgrades... Therefore, I appreciate the

candor of the posters who have been there before me!

I'd like to get member's thoughts regarding dust cover length. i.e., does the longer bearing surface

of the Limited frame offer a mechanical advantage over that of the Match frame? Does the longer

frame mitigate the rocking tendency of the slide during recoil - flatten the path of the slide?

Does it even matter? Just curious...

Thanks,

zaxx

I can't find the article now, but it was generally about having a custom gun built, and what features and gee-gahs one might want on a gun. One of the topics covered in the article was the matter a full length dust cover or not. In general, the extra mass up front helps with cutting down on the muzzle flip thanks to Newton's laws of physics. The price paid, though is that the extra mass means it's a little slower to move the gun around also thanks to physics. Early on in someone's shooting career, reducing muscle flip is more helpful than target to target transition speed. Later, getting to the next target faster would be more important.

(For about a year, I was shooting L-10 with my Match 40. A few months ago, I transitioned to a Limited 40. Although, I can't feel the recoil difference, but I do notice that the front sight doesn't quite move up as much. I don't know whether it's a function of the longer dust cover, or the lighter load that polygonal barrel lets me run, or a combination of both.)

Thanks for your response, Skydiver.