Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to Revos

galt11

I have a SW 686 in 357 that I just started shooting with more regularity and want to start loading for it. I would convert my 550 to use but didn't know if the dies make any difference. Does 38/357 require a taper or roll crimp? Do you need different dies for 38 vs 357? Can anyone make a suggestion of a brand to look for with the dies? I think I would like to use a Redding comp seating die as this will allow me to change seating depth for different bullets.

Also, can anyone recommend grips for the 686 that are a bit longer than Pachmyer presentation grips. I have a bit bigger hands and can't get a comfortable grip right now.

One last one, can anyone recommend a good revo gunsmith in the northeast? Thanks

Adam

Edited by galt11

Adam, welcome aboard. You have a great gun to start with and it will last you a very long time. What type of shooting are you getting into? USPSA, ICORE, IDPA?

Buy the Dillon dies. They work great. Use the Redding Seater I like it too. Use a taper crimp die. I use a 9 mm taper crimp on my .38 - 357 loads. The taper crimp takes off the little bulge a roll crimp can give you and helps during fast reloads.

38 and .357 use the same dies. All you need to do is adjust the powder funnel seating die and taper crimp die .1 inch longer on .357 loads.

Try Hogue Big Butt grips if you want a longer grip. Also look at NIL GRIPS. Nil grips has some thicker ones for those of us with big hands. You can also try the Pachmeyer Decelerator. I don't think it's longer but it's thicker and fills my hand better.

You didn't mention holsters: Rescomp, SpeedSec are both very good speed holsters. Safariland makes a real nice holster as well. Lots of choices depending on what you intend to do with your 686.

I don't know if he's in the Northeast but try Mike Carmoney for a teriffic trigger job and fast turn around time. Also, on the West coast try Apex Tactical.