Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

FTF and FTE

Ok, I'm no expert, but need to know what to look for or potentially fix.

I've got a new 1911, with Nolan ramped barrel in .40SW.

It will hand feed the first round on load pretty easily for the first and second load, but on the third and from then forward, it won't... The bullet doesn't nose dive, and I've tried both a Tripp and a Wilson 47NX mag, the bullet simply runs into the ramp and stops, all tilted up as it should be from the magazines, etc.

Makes for tough unloaded starts. I've take one shot at polishing the ramp, and perhaps I need to take another... I got the middle out about 30% polished, but the outsides where still a little rough from the EDM marks.

Second and somewhat related, the gun ejects spent rounds just fine, but having to hand cycle it to clean a problem or unload it, the round that comes out of the barrel, comes back, hits the ejector and then gets trapped by the barrel hood and sometimes won't come out. In fact on each Unload, show clear, I have to fiddle with the gun to get that round out after the mag is dropped.... I'm certainly not going to hard eject it as it's begging for an ejector strike.

I obviously need to talk to the smith that built it, but just figured, I'd educate myself first one what might be causing either of these problems?

Thanks in advance, I'll share any and all info about this as required.

Oh, and I'm using, for now anyway, 180gr Ranier TC plated bullets, so perhaps this is helping cause some of the problem, they are as well loaded to 1.195 OAL.

Alan

Edited by Alan Adamson

1) Try polishing it again, but in the direction that the round moves. The ramp angle might be bad and would need some more metal removed (though there've been threads where "gunsmiths" have butchered barrels. Will it feed factory ammo?