Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

MD Resources

JFD

The handwriting on the wall says that there's a high probability that if I don't take the MD position at our club that USPSA will die.  I'm kind of worried that with me as MD it will die anyway.

As a preemptive measure I'd like to learn as much as I can about this job before it actually happens.  I'd certainly have help from our current MD, but major burnout may have given him a jaded perspective, so I'm interested in any sources of information that may be available on the web.

I've found plenty of sites that have stages, plus I've downloaded all the classification stages, but still have to review the rule book again, this time from more than a simple shooters point of view.

I've been competing since 1999 in mainly informal IPSC/IDPA combo type matches, a little IDPA, and have been shooting USPSA for just this year.  If I get the job I can only hope that our few competitiors will hang around long enough for me to learn the ropes.

I have been wanting to get more involved, but I was hoping to wade around a bit before jumping into the middle of the pond.  

Any help would be appreciated.

My very inexperienced take on being MD is that it's largely about getting help to help you avoid burnout.  If you can recruit dependable volunteers to design and build one or two of your stages every month, and if you can recruit someone else to reliably and quickly score your match, then you will be golden.  If you have to do most of the work yourself, I see burnout.  Try to build a team if you can.

Congratulations on taking on the most thankless job there is in ipsc.  I took over the ipsc program at our club about a year ago.  Same situation, not very much experience, just jump in with both feet.  A couple of things I have learned in my year of on the job training.

1-  You can't please all the people all the time.  No matter what you do, someone is going to complain.  Get used to it.