Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need Some Insite

Justin Lewis

Ok, im very new to shooting hand guns and dont own one at this moment. Im not totaly new to shooting i was formaly in the Military so have some experience but not with hand guns. I really like the way the glock 30 and 36 looks. Once i make my decision on which one i will purchase i will get certified so i properly know how to shoot safe and know as much about my weapon as i can then i will get my Concealed weapon permit.

Which one is a better choice i look at the Stats on the two and they seem ver similar in size and weight and everything except the mag. size the 30 holds 9 or 10 and the 36 holds 6. anyways i wanted to get some advice on which one would you recomend.

If your hand is big enough to get proper trigger reach on the G30 then I would lean toward it. I also like the 9 round magazines with Pearce finger extensions over the clunkier factory 10 round mags. US made factory practice ammo is $10-12/50 rounds for 230gr FMJ.

If both of them are too large then the next logical step is the G23 in .40SW. Pre-ban magazines hold 13 rounds of .40SW. US made factory practice ammo is $9-10/50 rounds for 180gr FMJ.

My personal favorite is the G19 in 9mm. Practice ammo is about 1/2 the price of .45 so you can afford to shoot a lot more. Recoil is less so students tend to have an easier time handling the gun and learning marksmanship. Pre-ban magazines hold 15 rounds of 9mm. US made factory practice ammo is $5-6/50 rounds for 115gr FMJ.

The key to concealed carry comfort is getting a good sturdy belt made for carrying a gun - standard belts just don't work. A quality holster that completely covers the trigger guard is also important.

Good Luck!