Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hey everyone, I need to ask a favor, here is the situation:

I have an old friend living in California who suddenly just became a widow about 30 days ago. Her husband had firearms, registered to him.

Is there anyone here living near Oakland, CA that has an FFL that can do the transfer paperwork to her at reasonable cost? She was quoted $75 per firearm, and there are over 20. This is just too much money for her. Please PM me if you can help on this.

Second, what is the law when your significant other becomes deceased? Do you have to do the normal sale paperwork with the BATF? Is the law in CA different?

Thank you all in advance for your help on this.

Bret

ugh. My condolences. That $75 fee for each firearm is way out of line.

I'm no firearms lawyer but I do try to keep up to date with kali gun laws.

She needs to apply for a Hand Gun Safety card (simple test to verify you're competent with handguns and the safety rules) at a local dealer.

Once thats done, she needs to fill out one of these forms below and send info on each HANDGUN she came into her possesion.

The form should have more info. If she has any questions, she can call the CA AG office up and find out what else is required.

IIRC long guns don't need to be declared.

Assault weapons (i.e. AR, AK, etc, etc) are a whole nother issue. If its on the Kali AW list she needs to sell it out of state.

Intra Familial Transfer Form

On the same topic, it only costs $19 to register all the guns. Just make sure she has all HANDGUN info on extra copies attached with the original form.

yoshidaex is correct: