Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Revelations

mgood

I'm new here. I've posted a few times, but never made a "Hi, I'm new," post. So I guess this is it.

I started shooting rifles when I was about seven. (I'm forty now.) My dad taught me well. Shotguns came not long after that.

But I taught myself to shoot pistols when I bought my first one in my twenties.

My accuracy is not bad at all. But I've always had trouble shooting fast and actually hitting anything.

On a good day with a handgun, I felt like was probably shooting maybe two shots per second.

Most times it was more like a second, second and a half, two seconds . . . three seconds per shot.

(I've never used a shot timer to check. That's on my list of things to purchase. So these times are mostly guesses.)

It always seems like after every shot, my muzzle flips up to about a 45-degree angle, completely off the target. Then I have to find my sights and reacquire the target. I'm amazed when I watch videos of other shooters where it looks like the muzzle never leaves the target. How do I do that? I know my choice of weapon handicaps me some because I have a 3" 1911 with an aluminum frame. I'm also shooting full-power .45 ammo. A heavier, longer gun would have less muzzle flip. Ammunition loaded to just barely make major would have less recoil. But surely that's not all of it. I have the same problem with other pistols I've shot which are heavier and longer. So there's something. I just have to figure it out.

I recently started shooting competitively, after fifteen years of procrastination. Now I'm hooked; it's my new obsession.

I shot my first USPSA match in February. I knew I couldn't shoot fast, but figured I could shoot as accurately as most. So I intended to just go slow and not make mistakes. Yeah, that strategy lasted until the first buzzer sounded. I got in a hurry and was neither fast nor accurate. I pretty much sucked.