Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

38 short colt help needed

71Commander

I just started playing with short rounds for a 627 also. Case length is very secondary to oal. Base your loads on data for the oal length you're loading to, be it 9mm or 38 super, or other data. Your revolver will chrono quite a bit slower than your bottom feeder.

I just started playing with short rounds for a 627 also. Case length is very secondary to oal. Base your loads on data for the oal length you're loading to, be it 9mm or 38 super, or other data. Your revolver will chrono quite a bit slower than your bottom feeder.

I only need a PF of 120. The above is in the 130+ range out of a bottom feeder.

Is this load doable?

Due to the volume of the case you should be very close using 9x19 load data. Please start conservatively when starting your loads.......

That would be the right diameter of bullet to use, but I would only buy about 500 to see if they will shoot. I was not happy with 115jhps when I tried to load them up in Shorts. I have had best accuracy with heavier bullets, 147-150grain roundnose or fmj type bullets that load pretty slick into the gun.

Unfortunately I wouldnt use TG with the blackbullets or lead either.......It will smoke like a Locomotive, but yes, you should be able to do that load easily.....

Good luck,

DougC

Due to the volume of the case you should be very close using 9x19 load data. Please start conservatively when starting your loads.......

That would be the right diameter of bullet to use, but I would only buy about 500 to see if they will shoot. I was not happy with 115jhps when I tried to load them up in Shorts. I have had best accuracy with heavier bullets, 147-150grain roundnose or fmj type bullets that load pretty slick into the gun.

Unfortunately I wouldnt use TG with the blackbullets or lead either.......It will smoke like a Locomotive, but yes, you should be able to do that load easily.....

Good luck,

DougC