Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Guy Here

steveyacht

While I am new to the USPSA and will be getting involved in local matches, I need some advice. I currently own (among others) a Para-Ordnance P14-45 Limited (Stainless) and an S&W 625-6 with a 5 inch barrel I want to shoot in the Limited class only, don't want to jump into the Open class this soon. My questions are these:

1) What sort of modifications to these guns are recommended? What costs for these mods can I expect?

2) I have three high capacity magazines, (all Para) how many will I need? What should be done to expand capacity?

3) Best Place to get the gear I will need? I am not opposed to buying used stuff, but have not found a source other than E-Bay.

4) I want to (eventually) become involved in the Three Gun stuff, but, that will be another post.

Thanks in Advance for your help.

Steve

Welcome to the Forums, Steve. :cheers:

Might want to start off in Limited 10 Division with your Para P14. That way you will not miss the extra capacity that a .40 has and you will be able to shoot competitively without spending to much $$$. Get a couple of more mags and a good belt, mag holders and holster and go to work. You might want to skim through the results of This Search and pick out the threads that appear to be informative.

I would suggest one of the sellers here in the Dealers Forum for any items you might need to get started. Most of them are heavily involved in shooting sports and know what it takes to make it happen. :)

Steve,

My suggestions to your questions as a new shooter are as follows:

1) Shoot some other folks guns like yours that have been modified. Pick the mods that you like then move forward from there. Not all mods work for everyone.

2) Three mags will get you started. Personally I like 4 mags. One in the gun 3 on the belt. Again, its what you are comfortable with and how reliable your mags are. It also never hurts to have a few extra just in case you do have a big stage.