Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Load For 40S&W, 200gr, FNL, Clays

Skalkaho Slim

After reading over twelve pages from my search results, I couldn't find quite what I was looking for.

I'm reloading 40S&W, .401", 200gr, FN, LEAD pills with Winchester Small Pistol primers for a Walther P99, and would like to know a good recipe with straight, regular Clays.  Won't be shooting steel with it, just target and defense.  I hear Titegroup is good, but I got a lot of the regular stuff on hand.

I've heard that OAL is a bit strict with this round.  This is my first time reloading for the 40.  Anything special I should know?  What should the overall length be?  Since I'm used to crimp grooves, how do I know how low to seat the bullet?  I've heard that seating is very important because of the pressures generated by this round.  If Clays is way out of line, please let me know what might be better.  I would like to stay with Hodgdon if possible.  Thanks all!

Toujours Pret!

Skalkaho Slim

What you have is bad combination for .40 S&W... heavy bullet, short OAL (I assume the P99 magazine requires keeping the round substantially under 1.20"), and a weird, fast-burning powder. And you are new to reloading .40. Bad juju.

You will notice Hodgdon doesn't list heavy bullet Clays data and Jeff Maas' load list doesn't list Clays loads.

Viht. 3N37 works great with 200 gr lead bullets, even at short length. That's the combo many of us used in USPSA Limited when Major power factor was 175.

I agree that CLAYS is a bad choice for you with 200gr LSWC...it's just too fast for the purpose.

If you feel the need to stay with Hodgdon, try *Universal CLAYS*, which has the same burning characteristics as Unique (they recently announce officially that it is the same powder!).

You can find a number of loads on the IPSC Loads List at: http://home.columbus.rr.com/jmaass/index.html