Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

help with the "bouncy" barricades?

38stupid

Got to the cup, I think my first stage was the barricade, targets turn, I draw and place the

gun on the barricade, fire the 1st shot....BOING... the damn barricade swings for and aft

like one of those springy sign deals you see in front of gas stations :roflol:

Think I missed 2, maybe 3 shots. This was a practice session or something like that (2000...2002 ??)

so least I was aware of it for the big part of the match.

That brings up an interesting question. I would like to say first that I have no experience with shooting with "wings' on my gun. I built the gun a couple of years ago and

never had a chance to use it. I just pulled it out to start shooting again.

I shot a local match yesterday and shot the barricades. The club has individual barricades at the specified distances. I was playing with different grips on the gun/barricade

at each distance. I found what I thought was a decent grip and moved to the 3rd distance. That barricade was very LOOSE compared to the others. Needless to say

I could not settle the dot back on the target from shot to shot.

What is the preferred technique to use and does this help with the "bouncy" barricades?

Bob

The plywood at the Cup is 3/8 inch thick. When you set up on the barricade, use it to hold position side to side and up and down,

but don't lean forward or pull back on it. Hold the front to back motion of the gun the same as shooting offhand. This will work on

a solid barricade or one that is springy or one that is loose and waving around.

Bob,

Get the DVD "Shooting Clean My Way". It's the one that Doug Koenig put out with Lenny Magill. I believe that Brian sells it in his store. It will show you the proper way to use the Barricade. It's harder to explain it and would be better if you could see it.

You going to make it to Chambersburg?

Kevin

Bob,