Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Learning with Analogs

mjoy64

I started shooting competition pistol matches a year ago and was immediately drawn to the sport. When I to got in that mode of wanting to get better I did many things to try to facilitate this desire. One of the things I did was I drew a parallel to a similar learning process I went through... that being when I took up golf for the first time.

Now it probably is just me associating two things I love to do but... I wonder if any others had similar experiences. I work in the technical world so I tend to use that type of thinking when I learn. For me, I knew that the first two basic things I needed to have down cold for a good golf swing were my stance and grip. Without a solid foundation in these areas it is difficult to build a good golf swing.

Here are the grip/stance basics I learned from playing golf:

Stance - You need a good athletic stance, feet slightly wider than shoulder width, with your weight slightly favored toward the balls of your feet (maybe 60/40). Your stance should feel as if someone could give you a firm shove from the front and that it would not upset your balance. It is also key to assume your posture in the most relaxed manner possible, particularly avoiding tension in your hands as it leads to tension in other parts of your body. Tension does not enhance your ability to make a good fluid golf swing.

Grip - A good grip starts with your hands working in unison to deliver the club back to the ball with the clubface correctly aligned. The grip should be firm, but not so firm as to introduce tension in your arms.

With a proper and consistent grip and stance, you have the basis for the beginnings of a solid golf swing. A good golf swing is built on this solid foundation.

Here are the golf analogs that I applied to my shooting: