Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ar not going into battery

Mo Zee

Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to the 3 gun equipment. I have an oldish type AR-15. I recently fitted a flat top receiver and an adjustable stock. This is the type of stock that was purchased and fitted Adjustable Stock with Pic

After fitting, I am finding it difficult for the bolt/action to go back into battery. After the shot is fired, the bolt sort suspends at the open position, with or without the mag inserted. The only way to get it back to battery is either to shake the living daylights out of it or actually hitting it on the side.

Is the problem with the flat top or the stock. My guess is the stock and I have no idea what to adjust and/or check. Can anyone assist???

Take the bolt out of the carrier, slide the carrier into the upper receiver to see if the gas key is properly aligned with the gas tube.

If you replaced the upper, and the gas tube isn't aligned, it can cause the bolt carrier to hang up when going forward.

I am betting there is a missalignment of the upper receiver and the stock tube causing the bolt carrier to bind on the tube. Pull the carrier and look for marks on the top of the carrier near the gas key. The other problem might be the wrong or to short buffer being used, look for marks on the lower receiver where the top of the carrier would hit it. It will look like two verticle lines being hammered into the top of the lower receiver where the stock tube comes through. If y ou have a "big pin" lower you need to run an adapter. This also will cause the trouble you are having. KurtM

Thanks for all of the responses - Much appreciated.