Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I can see & I don't flinch

mquitos

I started shooting 6 months ago and believe I've had breakthroughs that a lot of guys just take for granted. I now have the correct greip and stance(says my shooting buddy), I  nologner flinge during my shots, and I no longer blink. I thinks this a breakthgough fer a newbee like myself.

The only problem left to me is to actually HIT the targets.

:)

I'm pretty new to this game myself.  One thing I've learned is to not take any breakthrough for granted.  It usually takes a sledgehammer to beat it in anyway  so when I have learned something new or improved I want to explore it and find out how I got there.  Try and use whatever it was to get better!!!

Welcome to the forum.

The BEST drill I know for trigger control and sight alignment is a pop can on a string at 10 yds. get that puppy moving, and it's challenging and fun. When it gets easy, move it back.

You'll get into an amazing zone after an hour of this where you can hit that can with the force!

Use a .22 and you can do it 500 times for 10 bucks.

What are you waiting for? :)

SA

Thanks Flex. It worked!!!  I decided to take my time in firing my shots at at the target without any time pressure whatsoever. And I was able to shoot about 3-4 inch groups.

I think I have been misinformed that speed should come first, then accuracy will follow. (I think I read this somewhere....hmmm...).

Anyway, thanks a lot. The sight picture thing is really working for me.

• 3 weeks later...

Heck great breakthrough.

My greatest breakthrough was not flinching so bad as to dig trenches down range with the SBH 44.

I would guess at 20 yards that would have been about a 3 foot error.   I am down to 2 second shots and 8.5 X 11 groups.

But when I hit that dry round 50% of the time it looks like I am swatting at a bee.

• 3 weeks later...