Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Field Course Or Long Course?

TNK

Is there a difference between a field course and a long course? I ask because I hear people say "field course," when referring to longer stages, but there is no mention of a field course in the USPSA rule book. The book refers to short, medium, and long courses only, all based on round count. Is the term "field course" a synonym for a long course, or does "field course" imply something special in the way the stage is designed? While the book recommends at least one long course for a local match, it does not recommend or stipulate a "field course."

Thanks in advance for your replies. I just became a Range Officer, and I am still learning the details of the sport.

Is there a difference between a field course and a long course? I ask because I hear people say "field course," when referring to longer stages, but there is no mention of a field course in the USPSA rule book. The book refers to short, medium, and long courses only, all based on round count. Is the term "field course" a synonym for a long course, or does "field course" imply something special in the way the stage is designed? While the book recommends at least one long course for a local match, it does not recommend or stipulate a "field course."

Thanks in advance for your replies. I just became a Range Officer, and I am still learning the details of the sport.

The field course is what used to be called the assualt course, now it's a long course. Although it could be a medium course, I guess. Of course we used to have hostages, now we have no-shoots.

Edited by GeorgeInNePa

The 2004 "Green Book" which USPSA is still operating under states:

1.2 Types of Courses

IPSC matches may contain the following types of courses of fire:

1.2.1 General Courses of Fire:

1.2.1.1 “Short Courses” must not require more than 9 rounds to

complete and no more than 2 shooting locations.

1.2.1.2 “Medium Courses” must not require more than 16 rounds to