Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slide Stop Function/procedures

kheil

I am quite new to IPSC competition! (Also this forum) At the last match (My third) with a new springfield (first matchwith this gun), I had problems which I think are attributable to my trigger finger pushing on the slide stop when "loading and making ready" I know some guns have a spring in the frame to engage a groove in the slide stop which makes it more difficult to remove accidentally. Would it be possible to machine a groove on the end of the slide stop and install an "E" clip to keep it in position, or should I just learn a new handling technique? I would appreciate any comments and suggestions.

Edited by kheil

I am quite new to IPSC competition! (Also this forum) At the last match (My third) with a new springfield (first matchwith this gun), I had problems which I think are attributable to my trigger finger pushing on the slide stop when "loading and making ready" I know some guns have a spring in the frame to engage a groove in the slide stop which makes it more difficult to remove accidentally. Would it be possible to machine a groove on the end of the slide stop and install an "E" clip to keep it in position, or should I just learn a new handling technique? I would appreciate any comments and suggestions.

The slide stop should not move unless lined up with the notch at near the full rearward position.?? More experienced will chime in with better answers.

Welcome to the Forums. :D

The slide stop should not move unless lined up with the notch at near the full rearward position.?? More experienced will chime in with better answers.

Welcome to the Forums. :D

I had the same thing happen to me, not so long ago -- what occurs is that during LAMR, if one's trigger finger is indexed along the side of the frame with enough pressure, in just the right position, it's possible to push the slide-stop pin inwards (or flush with the frame) when you rack the slide.