Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help me pick an optic for production optics / IPSC

Hi all

I have been shooting production with my Shadow 2 for 2-3 years now, and want to try shooting with an optic. I am based in the EU, so unfortunately many gun relating items are pretty overpriced. 

I have considered a bunch of different optics, but think I have it narrowed down to 2, and would really appreciate any input 

SRO - discarded due to price (~1000 USD)

Sig Romeo 3 XL - discarded due to price (~900 USD)

Burris Fastfire 4 - I like the different reticle options, but I am not convinced of the durability (~550 USD)

C-more RTS2 - seems like the window is slightly smaller than the others (~550 USD)

Shield RMSx - I have tried looking through the 8 moa version, but due to my astigmatism it looks much bigger. If I pick this, it will be in 4 moa (~550 USD)

Holosun 507 Comp - I suspect the 2 moa may look like 5-6 moa due to my astigmatism, but in case it looks sharp there is also the 2/8 dot/circle combination (~500 USD)

I am thinking of getting either the Shield RMSx or the Holosun 507 comp. I may be leaning slightly more towards the Holosun, as the brightness is adjustable which might be nice to avoid too much brightness for the astigmatism. Any input is greatly appreciated 

When I look through a red dot, I see pretty much what is in the right picture. I did once look through a C-more slideride though, and saw a very sharp and perfect large circle (I think it was minimum 10 moa)

image.png.555ec96d2bca1bd39b9732b946350ae2.png

I have a 507 Comp, SRO and Burris Fastfire IV. The FF4 is a pretty good optic and I have it on my backup gun that was cut for a Venom originally. Great optic and fairly durable so far but only about 1k rounds through it. I did drop it once taking it out of the bag and it didn't lose zero.