Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Questions For Bianchi Cup Revolver Shooters

revchuck

Folks - I'm working on an article for publication (or rejection, whichever comes first :)) on reloading for revolvers.

About how many rounds does an active Bianchi Cup revolver shooter shoot in practice and competition per year? What power factor do you load to? I'm guessing that about everyone shoots an S&W; which frame size - K, L or N? Is there a distinct preference for one frame size over the other, and if so, how come? About how many rounds between rebuilds, and what wears to require the rebuild?

I expect to get a wide variance of answers...I'm just trying to get a ballpark idea.

Thanks, and Merry Christmas!

Edited by revchuck

I started shooting BC with a wheelgun, as I am sure most people have. I'll try to answer your questions as best as I can, but I cant garuntee accuracy. A lot of this will also be specific to my area.

1. How many rounds is always dependant on the shooter. With Action Pistol kinda falling by the wayside people are shooting it less now than a few years ago. A dedicated AP shooter with a schedule conducive to practice could burn 20,000 rounds a year. I did about 25k one year but I was hitting it pretty hard. 120pf minimum and a lil for cushion.

2.K frames give you a better trigger (some believe) and L frames are also very common. I'd call it a 50/50 split. My first Cup gun was a 586 with a tasco dot. Thats it. Some people just get a 6" 686 and put a dot on and go, I think that is why we see a lot of L frames, just that there isnt much to do to dress it up. A lot can be done, but very little must be done. I dont ever recall a serious shooter running anything other than a K or L frame. (anyone else feel free to correct me if I am wrong.