Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shooting with Aphantasia

Smitty79

I think I'm mind blind.   I've been shooting for 9 years and I've always tried to "visualize" stages a bunch of times before shooting them.    I really didn't see anything.    What I was doing was more like talking to myself about each target and where I wanted my aim point.   In general, I am better at simple stand and shoots than complex field courses.   This is despite having had a career were a good memory was a strong plus.

I recently retired and I'm now putting more time and money into shooting.   I've been working with Steve Anderson, mainly on improving my practicing and mental game.  Listening to his podcasts, I've heard him talk about visualizing being like watching a movie.   On a recent call, I asked him for more of an explanation of what he was seeing.     He sees vastly more than I do.   I, reading up on this and taking an online test, almost everyone sees more than I do.

I've had this for a long time.    For the first half of my career, I was a submarine officer.    When making periscope observations, the accepted way to call the range to the target, was to look quickly, get the scope back down and then process what you saw to estimate contact range.    Everyone else was trying to look at the picture they saw.    I was just thinking about it.

I'm amazed I never realized what others were seeing.

Does anyone else have this problem?    What strategies are you using to try to make your "navigation" more subconscious?    All I've been able to come up with is more actual walkthroughs and more visualization by thinking about the targets.

https://memoryos.com/article/what-is-aphantasia-causes-symptoms-and-treatment

When you imagine doing any subconscious task, how do you do it, currently? Like what are the steps you think about if I were to say make me a bag of popcorn?
I assume you can verbalize it?