Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What's your process for working up a load on a mark7 super1050? Newish reloader with new toys.

UFOTrain

I've written and re-written this post about 5 times because i keep end up writing volumes, i'm the over thinking type.  I have a few years experience loading for bolt action rifles, .270 and 338LM.  low volume longer distance shooting.  Batches of 100 at the most but really focusing on consistency and precision, lab grade scale and all.  I love shooting pistol, .223 and .308 semi auto's but it was never worth my time to reload on a single stage press and ammo was cheap enough.

I just inherited 4 super 1050s!  2 with mark 7 auto drives, 1 set up for processing with what i think is a forcht auto drive, and 1 with no auto drive.  the mark 7's have a bunch of sensors and there are 2 dillon toolhead mounted case trimmers set up for both 223 and 300blk.  2 rf100's, a largish homeade looking wet tumbler and a bunch of other stuff including components galore.  I'm probably going to get rid of at least some of this stuff, but i want to use them first, understand how they work, and why he had 4 freaking 1050 presses. 

I'm trying to understand how to use them correctly.  I'm going to start off learning how to use them for 9mm, and .223 first and churning out some hopefully big batches.  I've been trying to do a lot of research, but i still have dumb questions.

So how do you handle load development?  do you do it on a single stage first? Then once you have a recipe set up the 1050 to match?  I understand that with a progressive press you lose consistency if you don't have something in every station?  Not to mention if i'm testing multiple powder charges and seating depths?  I'm not even sure how important that is for .223 and 9mm and more tactical style shooting vs bullseye.  I mostly shoot steel with pistol and ar15.