Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How Long Did it Take You to Master Brian's "Exercise 1"?

LHshooter

I'm 60 and I've been shooting local IDPA and USPSA matches for a couple years (SS in ESP, SSP, BUG; C Class in Limited and CO). I'm accurate (90%+ points in matches) but slow. I've finally decided to get serious about improving and shooting faster and am now implementing a dry fire program I hope I will stick with, (I know, what has taken me so long), and getting some live fire practice drills that make sense.

I got out Brian's book again, and more of it makes more sense now than when I first read it when I started shooting matches. In the Development section I started with Exercise 1 where you line up the sights on a wall, lower your hands, close your eyes, and remount the gun to see if the sights are still aligned. Usually the front sight is a little low and a little left (at the bottom of the notch or just slightly below, and at the left side of the notch). I've spent a lot of time adjusting my feet, relaxing my arms, fine tuning my grip, etc, but it comes up the same. Nothing I seem to do makes any difference and it's very frustrating. Brian said he can't tell how long it will take to master each exercise, but I'm not sure I'll ever get off Exercise 1. He says not to move on to the others until you master each preceding exercise, but after a while I couldn't resist. I do Exercise 2 as well as 1 and I can keep my index pretty damn good when I rotate left or right with my eyes closed. But, I want to proceed in the right order but can't seem to correct my front sight to where it is lined up in the notch almost perfectly every time.

How long did it take you to perfect this Exercise? Did you anything specific to correct your misalignment?

It sucks getting old and being frustrated.