Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New S&W PC 686 plus

J_Allen

So I just saw one of these in the store yesterday: https://www.smith-wesson.com/firearms/performance-center-model-686-plus-0

I didn’t quite get it. Sure it looks cool and all, but why not just replace the front sight and add an aftermarket cylinder release to a 627? Is there any competition where a moon clipped 7 shooter would be desired? Admittedly, I’m kind of new to competition shooting, but I don’t see the market. Smaller hands where the N-frame is too big? Am I missing something here?

Thanks, that’s what I thought. I’m going to be shooting my 625 again this year (2nd year USPSA), but am looking around for a possible new gun. Saw that the PC 686 plus was marketed towards “competition”, but didn’t really understand the niche. If shooting minor I’d want 8 rounds. If I was looking for home defense I sure wouldn’t be using the orange front blade. I guess it could always serve the purpose of fun range gun (i.e. you don’t always have to have a reason for wanting a new gun). Just surprised S&W is making such a combo. I could see the 4” PC 686 (similar configuration, but only 6 shots), for if you wanted to use speed loaders in IDPA, but wanted to have the option of moon clips. But why not spec out a 627 like this instead?

EDIT: I just realized the extended cylinder release would be illegal in IDPA, so the 4 inch gun doesn’t make sense either (other than “just because”).

Edited by J_Allen

On ‎4‎/‎29‎/‎2018 at 11:47 AM, J_Allen said: