Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need Advice - Helping a University Shooting Team get started

Rob D

***Mods - accidentally posted this in Rules forum instead of USPSA shooting forum.  Please move.  Thanks!***

I've been shooting USPSA matches since 2008 and have a fair amount of experience as a competitor.  I recently decided to go back to college for a second degree and found out that my school(Oklahoma State University) has started a practical shooting team.  They have 10-12 kids that show up regularly.  Until I joined they were just going to the local range, blasting away with whatever rounds they brought, then going home.  Now we have a scheduled weekly practice session in which I'm doing my best to teach them good technique and match skills, and we compete in 1-2 local matches per month.  We plan on applying for USPSA membership as a club once our range is suitable to host a match, but in the mean time, I'm looking for some advice on the following:

1:  How to raise funds -  The club has a few target stands and a few pieces of steel, but that's it.  No walls, no shooting boxes, no boundaries to construct shooting areas, nothing.  Last week I tried to teach them how to enter/exit positions, but without shooting boxes or visual barriers, the kids were just running back and forth across a couple of target sticks.  We would also like to purchase some belt/holster rigs for the club that could be loaned out to students who want to participate.  Does anybody have experience with trying to fund a club like this?  We're applying for an NRA grant and a NSSF grant, but in the mean time we are thinking of soliciting local businesses or possibly trying some other kind of fundraiser.