Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ultra Sonic Cleaning

I used an ultra sonic cleaner the other day and boy does it work. Just wondering if anybody else uses them and if there is any cons in using one. Also what works good on carbon build-up. One last thing a gunsmith  told me he uses sintheti(sp) motor oil for lube, any thoughts?

• 2 weeks later...

Jon,

What did you like about the cleaner? I friend that has a shop is talking about buying one and setting up a mobile cleaner to take to various matches. He was asking my thoughts on the idea. But as I have no experiences with it I'll pick your brain. Did it work on build up in the comp? What was the price for a cleaning? Any other info you think would help would be greatly appreciated!  

Thanks in advance,

Chriss

I've used the Ultra Sonic cleaner several times.  I love to take my mags apart and throw them in for a cleaning.  On my race gun I 'll take the top end apart and toss it in.  I don't usually throw the frame in (STI)...I generally just blown it out with gunscrubber or the like.  Something about plastic in the ultra Sonic they I believe they say you should avoid.  I may be wrong since all of our rental glocks get cleaned in it.  We charge $18.50 per gun.

Paul,

I think you may be right about the plastic and the ultrasonic not going together.  But, good grief, don't call the polymer framed Glocks plastic.  They would have a field day on the "Glock Talk" forum with that.

Chriss,