Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ok, got to ask

BASE772

So what advantage other than price and that first DA shot would a P320 have over a P226?

I'm pretty new to the Sig Platform. Bought the daughter a Carry size P320a couple months ago and put around 400 rounds through it before I gave it to her. :) Hands down the best polymer frame gun out of the box I have fired. Like it even better than the M&P 9L with Apex trigger kit in it.

And recently picked up a great all stainless P226 with a Gray Guns trigger job. ( Big thanks to that individual ) Forgetting about price and modularity the only advantage I can see is not having a DA trigger on the first shot.

I'm I missing something ???

That being said I should have my new full size P320 9mm soon. :)

Since price is an obvious difference (especially since the 226 went to GGI already), I'm assuming you mean what would be the competitive advantage of you stealing your daughter's 320 vs using the 226. ;)

Weight is a big difference. The 226 is all stainless, so it will soak up recoil nicely, but it will be more work in the transitions. If it were a stock 226, I'd say another difference would be the trigger reset distance. Assuming your 226 has their competition action job, the reset has been shortened quite a bit.

The last polymer framed gun I had (.40 HK USP) exhibited a noticeable difference in felt recoil as the mag was emptied. With less weight in the grip, I noticed the slide motion more. I don't really know if that's true for the 320 since I have only shot one mag through a friend's gun. Even if it exhibits the same thing, with the aftermarket guiderods that let you use 1911 springs, you might be able to lessen the feeling.

The last thing would be grips. With the 320, you can custom texture the grip (within Division restrictions) to your liking. With the 226, you have options of replacement grip panels in factory plastic, rubber, aluminum, and G-10.