Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

18" 870 with a polychoke2...9 settings

LAkid

I am new to this except for skeet & trap and (CAS)

I selected my guns on home defense and IPDA type matches

Not farther than 100 yards

I dont hear anyone mention barrel lengths in IPSC 3 gun for SG...I am assuming they are 26"..28" or 30".... hearing people mention .modified to full

I asked a question in Jflowers (chokes for shotguns) but it got lost from all the responses to his question

I have a Remington 870 sythetic express 18" 7 /1 shot the barrel is (IC ) to open for any distance intended for home defense and similar scenarios not to reach 50 yards. So I added a

polychoke2 to it...it has 9 chokes built in 2+ open to extra full choke and excepts slugs...I feel with this setup and either duck or pheasant loads and hot it will reach beyond 50 yards no problem.

Can I compete or use it with what IPSC uses...what ever that maybe...so far I have seen Benelli 28" with speedloaders

I have never shot an 18" extra full choke or tested it for pattern yet ...what does anybody think??

Its already missing 6"....but again it is for home defense and IPDA!

(PREVIOUS REPLIES WERE BRING IT ALONG AND HAVE FUN)

LAkid

you can definately use it. i'm also running my HD 870 in 3gun (18.5" IC bbl, no chokes, 7+1 mag, speedfeed IV-short pistol grip stock, six shell side saddle, vang comp large safety, and surefire fore end). basically b/c that is all i have right now.

there are many different competitions that use shotguns and each have different rules. even in local ipsc/uspsa matches, there can be different divisions. but, i think almost all of them would have a class for your gun. that's probably why most of your responses where just go out and have fun. you would have to check w/ each individual match to see where you would fit in.