Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Please Critique my Training Plan

Smitty79

First a bit about me. I've been shooting action matches for about 18 months. In August, I decided I wanted to get better. I bought Ben's 15 minute dry fire book and started a little organized training. In September, I shot my first 40% classifier.

I am 57, a good bit overweight and a little arthritic. I'm never going to be the fastest person out there between shooting locations. I wear bifocals, though I am functional without glasses. My shooting glasses have strong eye focused on the front sight and my other eye is focused on distance. Beyond 25 yds, I have a terrible time getting the focus right to shoot good groups.

I have never been good at "grooving" technique. I don't touch type well. I was submariner, not a fighter pilot. 2 hour battles where you spend your time thinking has always been more my speed than 2 minute battles where you spend your time reacting have always been a better fit.

For work, workout and family reasons, I have time for one match or 300+ round practice session per weekend. I can do 4 to 5 20 min dry fire sessions per week.

I shoot a Matt Mink tweaked CZ85B right now and I have a CZ Custom Shadow coming.

At 7 yds, I can shoot:

2.5 sec Bill drills with an average of 1 close C and the rest A's. (My draw during this drill is 1.2 to 1.3)

2.7 sec Blake Drills

4 sec 4 Aces, my reload is terrible (of maybe 40 timed reloads in the last month, only 2 have been sub 2 sec)

My goal is to be shooting 60% classifiers by the end of the summer and get my B card about a year from now. I'd also like to win Senior Production at my local match a couple times by the end of the year. I'm not limiting myself to these. But they're good goasl for now.

I've read Brian's and Ben's main books twice, I have all of Ben's training manuals and Steve Anderson's is coming. I am focusing on the drills Ben lists in "Skills and Drills" with typical times for B shooters.