Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Highwayman's road

Highwayman

Just call me Highwayman. The name is a reference to the fact I was a competitive fencer and instructor throughout my college years, and am now trying to learn the pistol. Highwaymen were known for carrying both a sword and black powder pistols, most songs about them reference this very fondly. I'm twenty four years old, just finished up graduate school and am seeking that first full-time job to start my career while working part-time to pay the rent. I bought a relative's police surplus Glock 17 for my twenty first birthday, and between long stints of working for my college without the ability to store a firearm I made a range trip without any formal training except some tips and pointers from friends years before. The Glock is Gen 3 but pretty worn out, old tritium sights that barely glow. Being an Illinois resident, needless to say I was surprised when we finally became the last state to allow concealed carry. So, I applied for my permit the first of this year, and dusted off the Glock for its first range trip in over a year and a half. My biggest concern was qualifying for the permit, it required thirty or so rounds into a silhouette at various distances. I was far too worried, I ended up putting them all through a six inch circle, the instructor told me to stop early at some point because 'you're fine.' But honestly, I did not feel fine. I'd never carried a gun before, let alone drawn one from a holster to fire. How would I maneuver? How could I use cover? What about multiple rapid shots that no range allowed to practice?