Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

AR bolt carrier questions

Bradgsxr

I am very new to the AR world and last year bought a basic M&P 15 to set up for 3 gun. Only has a 16" barrel ( I know a lot of guys prefer longer but I was building on a budget ) but I have set it up to work nicely for 3 gun which is all I use it for.

My question is I would like to replace the stock bolt carrier group as it has the plain black phosphate coated one that it came with and I would like to go to something that would be much easier to clean like a nickel boron coated or a stainless etc...

I am wondering what is the best as far as ease of cleaning and good wear life etc... and being that it is strictly a 3 gun rifle, is it worth it to go to a " low mass " carrier ? From what I understand, the lighter carriers reduce the recoil but you then have to change buffer etc... is it worth it or should I just stick with a good coated BCG and call it good.

Eventually I would like to go to a nice JP with a little longer barrel etc... but for now I am going to stick with the M&P as it is working well for me and my abilities don't warrant better equipment yet just looking to make clean up easier etc...

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, I have looked at the JP's, AP rhino etc.... any other brands I should look at ? - Thanks for any help -

Yeah I have a Miculek comp on it and have been pretty happy with it, as far as adjustable gas block, then do you tune it to the loads you are shooting. I usually just shoot federal 55 grain .

The advice above is good. Spend $$$ on a brake, a single-stage match trigger, maybe a FF handguard, and increased-capacity mags WAAAYYYY before anything as inconsequential as a fancy finished carrier. The phosphated carrier is just fine - if you don't like cleaning it, just lube it and leave it - it will run just fine. If you must buy a new carrier, spend the money on a JP lightened unit.