Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ordered a custom limited xtreme - what should I know?

ChrisRR

I've placed an order for a Tanfoglio limited custom of the new xtreme line in 40. I'm new to these pistols and so likely unaware of what I may need to look out for by the way of spare parts requirement and or upgrade parts or any other gotchas. I've read of issues with peening firing pins and breaking sears, does anyone know if these sort of generic problems go across to the xtreme line or are likely too? Any advice on this matter appreciated.

I have two limited custom's in 40 and have found them to be very reliable. The only maintenance item I found to date is that I broke the firing pin springs in both guns at about 10,000 rounds so would check the springs around that point if you track round count. Keep an eye on grip screws if you don't locktite them. With the single screw I found that they loosen over time if you don't. Otherwise when you are cleaning the gun just give a visual.

I have just installed the new xtreme firing pins but haven't had a lot of shots down range with them yet. The OEM firing pins that I took out were in good shape [no peening]. Haven't heard of breaking sears - I did have a full inspection done by a gunsmith this past fall and he said mine was in great shape - surfaces showed no wear.

Spares I keep grip screws, recoil springs, mag follower, pins and some fiber optic - that's about it.

Also remove and clean the extractor and change the extractor spring every 10.000 rounds, more often if you use the pistol in competition. In my 10 years of shooting Tanfoglio the most problems I have encountered has had something to do with the extractor. I don't know how much you shoot, but plan on having to change the rear sight after 50.000 rounds, could be less, could be more.