Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9Major: Anyone running an Zev Open Glock 17 with HS6 and MG 124 JHP?

Fureio

I've been researching this forum for 2 months now and have gotten so many different answers and opinions that my head is spinning. Anyone willing to help a novice reloader get a test batch loaded and not destroy my brand new Zev race gun?

I am looking for a 9major recipe using the following components:

• Zev Open G17 with a KKM match barrel and a Zev Major comp.
  • Reloading components:
  • Montana Gold 9mm 124 gr JHP
  • Mixed range once fired brass
  • Winchester small pistol primers
  • HS-6 (I already have found great tips and recipes for using Autocomp, so no need to share recipes for that powder)

My questions:

• What's a reliable OAL for use in the Glock? Most of the answers i'm getting revolve around a S_I or custom 1911
  • What's a good start and max load with powder?

My goal is 1375 fps using a F1 Shooting Chrony.

One last note to share with you all: I've asked Zev to share what recipe they use to QC the pistol and their answer was that they don't share recipes. All I can surmise is that this is a liability issue.(?)

Edited by Fureio

1st question you asked- OAL.....Running 9 Major, you will have a compressed load. Doesnt mater what powder you used. I have found, through a LOT of trial and error, that 1.155 OAL with my normal 115gr bullet load has been reliable and safe. I've been running 3n37, and is my preferred powder. With my load i'm SUPER compressed, and I'm sure you will be as well with a longer bullet, so watch your brass and primers for the signs of over pressure.