Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Question on Recoil Springs for Colt 1911 LW Commander

BBQDawg

Though I'm getting a little longer in the teeth age wise, I am relatively new to shooting as much as I do and reloading. I'm having an issue with failures to feed the last round of my magazines with my reloads primarily, though some occasionally with factory. I shoot all 230 gr loads, including reloads and factory. I shoot a 1911 Colt LW Commander XSE that Alchemy Custom Weaponry put their Hand of Doom Carry package work to. I shoot 230 gr Lead Round Nose bullets behind 4.5 gr of Titegroup. It is a soft shooting load that I have found to be very accurate with my gun. My reloads are averaging 806.1 fps on my chronograph. I have marked the mags when I have issues and many of the mags are repeat offenders, but some mags will fail this round, not fail the next round, and maybe a different mag or two will fail that round. However, when I shoot those same reloads in one of my government model 1911's there are no failures. I have then shot Speer Lawmen 230 gr TMJ through the same mags with no failures. I am told I have a Wolff 18lb recoil spring in the Commander. I have been told I need to possibly make my reloads a little hotter; and then I have also been told I might need a heavier recoil spring. I don't know what to do and was hoping someone on here could tell me. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.