Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to rifle reloading

gunner40sw

I have been loading my own pistol rounds in 40 , 45 and 9mm for 20 years. I have two Dillion 650s and a Dillion RL550. I have never loaded rifle before but I want to start. I have two ar 15s both marked 5.56 on the barrels with a 1-9 twist. I dont want to use a progressive machine just a single stage press because I am not in a hurry. My reloading will be for fun not competing with rifle. So I need to know what are some sources to educate me in the entire process

and any reloading data i may need. Books , websites and such

Use your 550 for the rifle. I also only loaded pistol and then started on 30-06. My 550 works perfectly. You can weigh each powder charge, if you wish, by taking off the powder hopper and adding a funnel. I don't. Call Brian and get the .223 conversion set up and dies. You will also now need to size and lube cases. Good luck.

This is a very basic manual that I wrote, but it does cover things like measuring to the leade to get the right COL for match ammo. As I said, very basic, but you might find it interesting. It assumes that you will use a single-stage press. There's NO load data in the book, I leave that to the manufacturer's websites.

http://www.amazon.com/AR-15-Ammunition-Reloading-beginners-ammunition/dp/145371779X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1368141708&sr=1-1&keywords=ohland+reloading

Here is the table of contents:

Disclaimer.......................................................................................... 4

Firearms Ownership Rights.................................................................. 4

Introduction....................................................................................... 5

Why is the AR-15 Popular?................................................................... 6

Cartridge Nomenclature...................................................................... 7