Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting in the Zone

Indiana James

To be a top competitor, I think, it is necessary to get into the "Zone." I'm new to IPSC, but have competited at the NCAA I Level. I've been in the Zone and recognize it after any competition. I can't will it to happen, but I can make it happen more often. In other words, I can improve my chances of being in the zone.

To me the zone is when your mind stops thinking and just reacts. There's a fine line between stop thinking - the zone, and stop thinking, my mind is a sleep. Practicing has nothing to do with the zone. Your performance will improve with practice because your mind will react quicker through "muscle memory."

When in the zone, your competition goes by and no thoughts have entered your mind. Your plan does not pop back into your head. You simple watch your sights go up and down, your eyes skim to the next target and your don't think about your movements. Everything just happens as if you we're walking down the street. The time that goes by seems slow when your all done. However, your result will be one of your fastest. Now, here's an important point. When you compete in the zone, you will get your maximum capable score or close to it. For all practical purposes, that is what you are capable of. Now, with practice you will be able to go faster and more accurate and your score will improve, but to beat your best score you'll have to be in the "zone" again. Some people compete their whole life without every experiencing the "zone." I think all people are capable of it and it gets easier with teaching and practice.

The best way I can put it is your in the "Now." You are present. Your not thinking of the past (your plan) and your not thinking of the future (the time you'll have, the score you'll have).