Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Beta C-Mags

EricW

I'm thinking about becoming a Beta mag dealer, since no one else in the area is. What's the opinion of people who actually have owned / used the Beta mags: Is it a real, usable device? Or, is it a gimmicky toy? Are they tough enough to send out with an LEO or serviceman/woman and still be able to sleep at night?

Any reliability issues? Are they fussy to use at all? I know they are heavy and make the gun handle differently, but it would seem that the obvious use for the Beta mag is as a "poor man's SAW" for the smaller, rural LE agency.

I have no experience at all with them, so your real world experience will be greatly appreciated.

As I have witnessed, If you take a face plant and have a yard sale ,the tower will snap off! :D:D

Ivan

SCS Vegas

Wow. That's even better that the out of spec Glock basepad "tactical unload".

Was the mag destroyed?

I bought a (now collector-item "LEO" marked) one a few years ago. Just FYI, a single 100-round burst out of a M4A1 will cause Break-Free to smoke off the barrel through the vents in the handguards in a most amusing way.

They take forever to load, but they run just fine in both of my Open AR's, my Tactical AR, and even a old Colt HBAR...as well as in M4A1. Heavy, which is fine using standard sights or a scope, but they feel...weird...when using handguard-mounted secondary sights. Easy to get used to, but the weight out to both sides is a bit disconcerting the first few times.

I'd drag one around if I was in need of a lot of ammo and was feeling too lazy to reload.

A vendor I ran into at the SHOT show a few years ago told me that his 1.5" diameter 10" barrel ARs was designed to burn a full Beta, reload, and burn a second Beta. He was building ARs for security use. I made a note never to try to run a barricade that he had armed up ;)

Alex