Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

how to dial in Trijicon TR24

steviesterno

Hey all,

I thought I had this down, but a recent abomination of a stage has me thinking otherwise. How should I dial in my TR24? Right now, I have it so the tip of the ^ hits dead center at 50 yards with 55gn 223 out of a 16" barrel. At 200 yards I held exactly the same and couldn't hit a thing! What Should i do to dial it in and not suck so much?

Should I try for a 12 o clock hold rather than a 6? The targets around here are and will be 8" steel, and not much farther than 200 yards. Please help me out, I'm a scope noob!

Hey all,

I thought I had this down, but a recent abomination of a stage has me thinking otherwise. How should I dial in my TR24? Right now, I have it so the tip of the ^ hits dead center at 50 yards with 55gn 223 out of a 16" barrel. At 200 yards I held exactly the same and couldn't hit a thing! What Should i do to dial it in and not suck so much?

Should I try for a 12 o clock hold rather than a 6? The targets around here are and will be 8" steel, and not much farther than 200 yards. Please help me out, I'm a scope noob!

I prefer a 6 o'clock hold, so that you aren't obscuring your targets with your reticle. I usually shoot irons and I always utilize a 6 o'clock hold. I built an optics upper for the Pro-Am, and I'm using a 400 yard zero with the 400 yard hash mark, because that gets me +- 2 inches out to 500 yards with the BDC and my 75gr handloads. It takes practice and experimentation to find the proper zero for your purposes/rifle/ammo/optic. With the TR24, in my opinion, the 6 o'clock hold with a 200 or 300 yard zero is probably the way to go depending on how far you expect to shoot. The lack of a BDC on the Accupoints makes shooting at longer ranges... tricky.